Tags

, , , , ,

Marfa may be a small Texan town in the middle of the desert, but it does have some great, unique shopping. Here are my suggestions if you happen to find yourself there.

shopping at paisano marfaThe Hotel Paisano has a fun little gallery of shops in it with Marfa souvenirs, art, clothes, and home goods. I thought the cowboy made out of rocks was really unique and the Marfa landmarks tote is cute. Too bad I already have a million canvas bags.

thrift shopping in marfaSacks Thrift Avenue is a super funky thrift store, but if you’re willing to dig, you can find some great cheap deals like this crazy Texas cowboy/hippie shirt complete with shoulder pads or these cheapo glam 80s earrings that I picked up. That amazing glass-topped desk was actually in the window when I first went to Marfa two years ago, so I thought it was a sign that I should buy it this time around. Unfortunately it’s not part of Sacks and the price has neither gone down nor is it cheap. If only I had a spare $3,500. That’s a piece to treasure.

Stuff store home designStuff is one of my favorite stores in Marfa because of the way it’s curated. It had just opened Thanksgiving 2010 and I’m glad to see that it’s still around. I did seriously consider splurging on that lamp – the fun colors and detailing make it really special. It would be the perfect touch with a cozy reading chair in my living room. I also really loved the marbled chair.

book store and clothing shop marfaThe Marfa Book Company is one of the anchors of the town. They have an absolutely amazing and robust collection of art, design, and architecture books. That’s definitely their strong suit. The picture that says “Naïve” is the cover of a discounted screen printing book my mom bought for me that I may frame prints from or cut up for collaging.

Tienda M is a boutique next door that has some really beautiful things but is very pricey.  They have various objets d’art and home decor items as well as clothing from Dosa. There was a sweater I really wanted – white knit sleeves with a crazy wooly yarn body – but alas $550 for a pullover is not easily justifiable for me. One of the necklaces at Tienda M inspired a DIY project that I’ll post on the blog soon, so keep a lookout!

freda boutique marfaFreda is a new boutique in Marfa that is very small and closely curated. I loved the Pamela Love “Dia de los Muertos” jewelry because they’re just such standout pieces. What an eye catcher. Again – the price point wasn’t really in my range. The clothing line the boutique carries is also really interesting. Great knits and leather trim.

I ended up buying some rose lip balm and crazy sunnies that I’ve been wearing everywhere!

wrong store cobra rock boot marfaThe Wrong Store is a gallery-boutique with a workshop next door. While I was there I saw two men working on giant carved wooden pieces like the gun you see above. You can even open it up and it turns into a mirrored cocktail bar! Wrong also had large photo negatives from the set of Giant, the Elizabeth Taylor, James Dean, and Rock Hudson movie shot at Hotel Paisano in Marfa in 1956. My favorite is “GIANT photo 2.”

The Cobra Rock Boot Company is definitely worth visiting. The boot co has its workshop right in the middle of the store. I loved seeing the boots in different stages of creation. They’ll fit you and make you a pair for only $450! Pretty great for a handcrafted pair of Texan boots. Next time I plan a trip to Marfa I think I’ll plan ahead to save up and get myself a pair. You can also buy them online at Arrow and Arrow or at Mockingbird Domestics in Austin.

And there you have it – my Marfa shopping recommendations. Here’s a pic of me with this year’s Marfa purchases.

my marfa purchases

