Tags

, , , ,

With the art scene in Marfa came the foodie scene. There are plenty of good places to gnosh at while you’re in town.

Hotel Paisano has Jett’s Grill, where we had our Thanksgiving dinner when we first arrived last Thursday.
thanksgiving marfaJett’s is fine, but nothing to write home about, especially with some of the other restaurants in town. However, I would highly recommend you go there for drinks before dinner. Grab one of their delicious margaritas and take it outside to the patio to enjoy your own fire pit and the sound of the fountain. It’s cozy and lovely way to start a special night.Β 20121129-231023.jpg

20121129-230733.jpg

For lunch in, pick up some fresh-baked bread and other sandwich items from The Get Go, a great little organic grocery with everything you could ever need.Β 

20121129-230112.jpg

For lunch out, head down to the pavilion next to the railroad tracks for some of the best trailer food in Texas! Food Shark serves mediterranean food with a twist as well as what ever is locally sourced or in season at the time. The food is so light and well made – the perfect recovery meal after a heavy Thanksgiving. We had an amazing lentil stew that I tried to recreate at home and a hummus plate. So good I could do it all over again. Every day.

For our big night out this year we went to Maiya’s.

maiya's restaurant marfa

I can’t recommend it enough. The restaurant is charming and intimate despite the 2 story ceilings and the Judd-esque straight lines and minimalism. We got a bottle of Syrah to enjoy an amazing meal that started with butternut squash soup and roasted beet with warm chevre. For my main dish I had a personal mushroom lasagna baked in a shallow dish – what a great idea! The pasta was homemade and the ricotta was so light and fresh. My dad had some sort of steak (what does a vegetarian know about meat…?!) that he couldn’t stop gushing over, and my mom had panko encrusted salmon. 20121129-230127.jpg
I was so full, I didn’t think I could handle dessert, but looking at the homemade pistachio ice cream with chocolate sauce and the profiteroles, I couldn’t help myself. To. Die. For.

There are two restaurants I went to last time I was in Marfa that I want to mention as well: Cochineal and Pizza Foundation. (Unfortunately Marfa Table is gone. I think they moved to Austin, actually).

cochineal marfa restaurant

20121129-230051.jpg

Cochineal has gotten a lot of good reviews, and you’ll probably see it mentioned in any big media article you read. I forget what I had, but I remember the ambiance and the food being cozy and delightful.

Pizza Foundation is just a fun place to go and grab a pizza.

I hope you enjoy these recommendations and let me know if you find another Marfa eatery you think I should try!

