Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t believe it’s already been a week since I’ve been back from San Francisco. What an amazing city! Since it was my first time there I had to do all the mandatory tourist things – ride a cable car, walk the markets in Chinatown, etc., but I can’t wait to go back and explore the city a little more. Here are some of the foodie highlights from my trip.

Eat

Burma Superstar – If I had to sum up this restaurant in one word it would be killer. We had the samusa soup and tea leaf salad, but my favorite by far was the sesame tofu. I am still dreaming about it. I think even tofu haters would be transformed after one bite! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside with this incredible tangy flavor. I’ll just stop describing it now because there’s no way to do it justice. Just go there. Order.

Jam Sanitchat at Thai Fresh in Austin told me that Thai cooking has 5 flavors in it (bitter, sweet, salty, sour, umami). Burma/Myanmar is right next to Thailand, so I noticed some similarities and definitely recognized and appreciated the complexity of the flavors in each dish.

20121217-221657.jpg

20121217-221707.jpg

20121217-221722.jpg

Blue Bottle Coffee – While we were at the SFMOMA, we stopped by Blue Bottle Coffee for a snack. My cappuccino was perfection, but I think my favorite part was that they had an ethereal-looking cake called the Thiebaud after painter Wayne Thiebaud whose paintings of pastry cases I’m enamored with.

20121217-221633.jpg

20121217-221643.jpg

Fino – Fino was the restaurant in our hotel and it turned out to be very good. The Cranraspberry Cosmo and perfectly cooked ravioli, paired with good ambiance, good service, and good conversation, made for an excellent evening.

20121217-221607.jpg

20121217-221618.jpg

Club Deluxe – This is a bar in Haight Ashbury that also happens to have a pizza parlor running in it. Their Deluxe “Spa” Collins was dangerously refreshing and our margherita pizza was delicious, all accompanied by the sweet croons of The Dimestore Dandy.

20121217-220830.jpg

R & G Lounge – I absolutely had to have Chinese food while I was in San Fran. Austin just does not have a great Chinese place. R & G felt pretty legit with a mix of chopstick-wielding locals and those that were only offered forks (i.e. us). The spring rolls were crunchy and delicious and the veggie fried rice was so fresh tasting – not at all greasy. (Ok, so that’s a pretty tame order for being in Chinatown, but I like what I like!)

20121217-221508.jpg

20121217-221459.jpg

Cowgirl Creamery – Although stuffed by the time I got there, I couldn’t resist Cowgirl Creamery in the Ferry Building. I managed to stuff down half of an amazing grilled cheese. Crusty, buttery bread and perfectly melted cheese (not too gloopy or soggy). YUM.

20121217-220911.jpg

And some more food pics…

alembic cocktail san francisco

delicious cocktail at the Alembic

bagel lombard san francisco

bagel at a cafe near Lombard Street

Check out some of my other San Francisco shots on my Instagram profile, and keep posted for more on shopping and sights in SF.

