Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

stephane rolland couture

pin it dose of dash

The Spring couture fashion shows were in Paris last week and there were some beautiful collections. I think my favorites were Giambattista Valli and Elie Saab because they were such classic, beautiful couture, and Armani as a really fun, bold, and spot-on collection. I had never heard of Stephane Rolland (above image), but his show was also a favorite for the amazing silhouettes. I will definitely keep an eye out for him from now on. Here are some more of my favorite looks from the shows.

couture spring 2013

pin it dose of dash

Christophe Josse /\ Bouchra Jarrar /\ Georges Hobeika

ulyana sergeenko couture

pin it dose of dash

Ulyana Sergeenko is part of the “Russian Mafia,” which includes Dose of Dash style icon Mira Duma. This show felt like a fairy tale. I loved the glossy fabrics, the structured cuts, and the bright, solid colors.


giambattista valli couture

pin it dose of dash

Feminine perfection. Hopefully we’ll be seeing some of these on the red carpet this awards season. To me the silhouettes seem a throw back to 50s Dior and Givenchy. And the bright colors trend continues – yay!
elie saab couture

pin it dose of dash

Elie Saab always performs by fulfilling a girl’s dreams. Lace, sparkle, embroidery, and sequins. Very Princess Grace.

dior couture

pin it dose of dash

This was Raf Simon’s second show at Dior since John Galliano left. I can’t say I was bowled over but there were a few things that I found really compelling. I love the unexpected cut out in the yellow dress and I can definitely see how the top on the rightmost outfit will trickle down from runway to realway.


armani couturepin it dose of dash

I loved the Armani show! From the jaunty caps to the interesting fabric choices, it was fun and fresh while still staying classic and fitting with the couture aesthetic (if that makes sense).

valentino couture

pin it dose of dash

Every season I think Valentino’s successors are getting closer and closer to his aesthetic.  This collection was ultra-feminine but was not boring or stale like we’ve seen in past shows from Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli (p.s. can you get more Italian names?!). The attention to detail, the cuts, and the fabrics were all exquisite.

I suppose I would be remiss not to mention the Chanel show. After all, Chanel and couture practically go together like love & marriage. There were a few looks that I liked, but on the whole I wasn’t that amazed. For me, Karl is usually hit or “meh.” Don’t get me wrong, the dresses were beautiful, but I enjoyed many of the other couture shows more. Also, Karl’s pre-fall show for Chanel a few months ago was just so incredible that this one didn’t compare for me.

In sum, there were a lot of bold, strong colors this season as well as a good smattering of neutrals. I loved the palette and will curious to see if this trickles into everyday fashion. (Or is it just because I like bright colors and neutrals that I picked out these looks…?)

What were some of your favorite looks or shows?

Follow my Runway Favorites Pinterest board for more fashion updates!

*all images from style.com except for those with looks by Stephane Rolland, Christophe Josse, and Georges Hobeika, which are from fashionising.com.

