Tags

, , , , , , ,

…that is the question.

green juice cleanse

I’ve been thinking about trying a juice cleanse for a long time. Was it something I could actually do, make it through three whole days without food? Was this just some fad for LA waifs or would it actually be good for me? Would I be willing to spend ~$160 on what is, essentially, a three-day diet? Well, when a Gilt City deal for the Nekter Juice Cleanse popped up in late January, I decided it was worth a shot.

I’m the kinda girl that does not skip a meal. So since I was so freaked out that I would starve to death I made sure to do my research before starting the cleanse. I read about one girl who had a heavy, fried meal as her last hurrah before the cleanse and she experienced horrible, hangover-like symptoms the first day. I read about others that had bad caffeine-withdrawal symptoms. This made me even more nervous, so I started preparing my body about 5 days beforehand.

And this preparation proved to be very, very important.

I started cutting down on caffeine. This was hard for me. It’s not so much the caffeine that I crave (although I usually need one cup of something per day), but more the ritual of holding a hot mug in your hands and sipping coffee or tea. Waking up slowly in the morning or indulging in afternoon cosiness with a book.

Slowly I cut back to one cup of coffee a day, replacing other caffeinated beverages with tea. Then I made the switch from black tea to just green tea. Then just one cup of green tea in the morning. The next day was my first caffeine free day, and I did get a headache in the afternoon. But those were the last of my symptoms. I also made sure to eat increasingly healthier. I shoveled in giant kale salads and began to cut out any carbs, processed foods, and sugar.

Then I started the cleanse. And the verdict? I loved it! The juices were delicious (although they didn’t always look it), and the fact that I had a different juice 6 times throughout the day meant that I was never hungry. The juices take about half an hour to an hour to finish, and you drink one about every 2 to 3 hours. In fact, I’ve felt way hungrier just trying to eat really healthily existing off of salads, nuts, and fruit on diets like the 3 Day Perricone Cleanse.

That first day I felt strangely exuberant and energetic. My skin looked good, I lost a few pounds, and after 3 days my waistline came back! Unfortunately the day right after the cleanse happened to be Easter, and while I wasn’t horrible, it probably wasn’t the best way to keep going on an uber-healthy plan.

So, was it what I expected? Not quite. The negative – I didn’t instantly lose 10 pounds as I was secretly hoping. It really was more about getting the toxins out of your body than losing weight. The positive – I was never hungry and was always satisfied (although I did miss food in general).

Would I do it again? Absolutely. I felt really great, I looked great, and I was motivated. It’s definitely pricey, but you can probably look up juicing recipes online and do your own, homemade cleanse.

What about you? Have you tried anything like this before?

Photo source

