Tags

, , , , , , ,

Editor’s Note: I’m excited to welcome the first foray into men’s fashion on Dose Of Dash, and with it, the fabulously curatorial eye of Mister B. I call it, Dashing Man. Enjoy!

dashing man fashion

Everyday Chic

Dries Van Noten: Look 14

dries van noten MFW ss14
I’m a big fan of the pattern play, mixing and matching, florals (spring, duh) but done in an antique yet modern way. Apparently he scanned old images (from encyclopedias) of flowers and mixed them with modern scans of fresh flowers. Interesting.

Catching a Show with the BF

Haider Ackerman: Look 1

haider ackerman men's fashion week 14
I like when designers play with feminine fabrics for a masculine frame. Haider, with his first major menswear show, has pretty much nailed this for me. I’ve chosen this for a ‘night’ look (probably catching a show somewhere). The silks, satins, and loose trousers in rich tones feel upscale yet still wearable enough to romp around.

Pique-Nique

Marc Jacobs: Look 6

marc jacobs men fashion week spring 14
We need to go outdoors every once in a while, and with global warming that means shorts. I think Marc does a good job with a push-pop orange cropped cargo short (gay gasp!) He’s on trend with his use of floral for the shirt and I’m digging the tie around the neck. Overall, this is a run around town, lunch-on-the-go look.

Marketing Man

Balenciaga: Look 8

alexander wang for balenciaga men's fashion week 14
It’s interesting. I was not a fan of A Wang’s own collection this season, but he seems to have pulled together a modest, workable line. He’s pretty much gone against Ghesquière’s aesthetic which, in a way, is probably necessary. I like look 8 for it’s usability (which let’s face it, is something necessary to a degree for work) and simple style.

Hit the Courts

Salvatore Ferragamo: Look 21

sporty ferragamo men fashion week
One of the sportiest collections to go down the runway this season, creative director, Giornetti, put together a bunch of looks together that I could see the breeder’s going after. I like the graphic numbering on the clothes and color blocking is an ‘easy’ fashion win for most straight guys. Downing a beer, watching the game or hitting the courts, many men would throw on their fashion tank and loose pants before heading out.

Those are my favorites for this season. I wasn’t sure how I felt about Etro’s Tejano-themed collection… Take a look and let me know what you think!

xo
Andy

*All images from Style.com

More fashion week coverage on Dose Of Dash.


Love reading the blog? Please follow us on Facebook!

