Tags

, , , , ,

20130730-105510.jpg
pin it dose of dash

I’ve been on a shopping freeze lately and I’ve been trying – so hard – to be a good girl. But when I was on South Lamar this Saturday my shopping instincts got the better of me and I had to stop at Moss Designer Consignment, just for a quick peek. They’ve been torturing me ever since I started following them on Instagram – daily photos of their latest ensembles and accessories that make the mouth water. But the great – and devastating – thing about consignment/vintage/thrift is that if it’s not at all close to your size that wallet stays shut.

So I went to try my luck, hoping for my credit card’s sake I wouldn’t find anything in my size, and hoping for my shopaholic’s sake that I would find something fabulous. And I did. Amazing bejeweled sandals. To quote Carrie Bradshaw, “Well actually, they weren’t sandals. They were Manolos.”

My biggest weakness is shoes. If I find designer shoes at (what I deem is) a stellar price, I basically can’t resist. I’m building a collection, you know… So when I saw these bling-bling beauties on final sale for $87.50 in my size(!!!) how could I say no? It was as if the shoe gods were saying, “Go forth. This is a noble cause to break with your promises. You must grace yourself with your first pair of Manolos.”

They’re just so Carrie Bradshaw! Sex and the City may have created false expectations of both sex and wardrobe reality for my generation, but I still love the show dearly. My new babies remind me of one of my favorite episodes: A Woman’s Right To Shoes. And with that I’ll leave you with a quote from Carrie:
The fact is, sometimes it's really hard to walk in a single woman's shoes. That's why we need really special ones now and then to make the walk a little more fun.
pin it dose of dash
Keith Haring shoes by Nicholas Kirkwood.

