Tags

So far I haven’t seen anything that’s rocked my world. After pinning myself into a tizzy last season and refreshing Instagram like an addict, I’m feeling a little over-saturated and bored. Even street style feels more homogenized. No, I don’t want to see your graphic tee, pencil skirt, and stilettos or your ripped boyfriend jeans and pointy-toed pumps. I’m done with your high-end sweatshirts and neoprene boxy Ts. BOR-ING. The luxe grunge, slumming-it look made popular by model-off-duty style has crossed over into the mainstream and it’s no longer unique.

I recently read an interesting article in the New York Times where fashion journalist Eric Wilson poses the question that fashion week may be over as we know it. And frankly I don’t think that’s a bad thing. While I love street style and would jump at a chance to go to the shows (I will never forget the princess dream that was my first non-stalker experience at Paris Fashion Week), the whole thing is feeling overblown. By the time fashion week turns into fashion month (in London, Milan, and Paris), I think everyone has just lost their energy.

Fashion Week really started as a way for buyers to see what they wanted to purchase for the next season. But that has proliferated beyond just spring, fall, and couture to include pre-fall, resort, and bridal. Sheesh. These designers must be exhausted no matter how many great people they have on their design teams. And frankly we don’t really need ALL those options from all those ‘seasons‘ now that there are so many great brands, price ranges, and designers to choose from. Is this really sustainable monetarily for fashion houses as well as for maintaining high design standards?

What would fashion be like if everyone scaled back a bit and truly focused on what they got into the business for: creating beautiful or meaningful clothes. And what if we all stopped copying each others’ style and really focused on taking a unique spin on the fewer items we have. Some designers are already going this route and I’m curious to see where fashion will go in the next 5 to 10 years. Tamara Mellon, former Jimmy Choo designer, announced she would “introduce smaller collections throughout the year, and deliver them to stores in the season for which they were designed” (NYT).

As much as I’m a shopaholic (literally and window-shopping/Pinterest-wise), I’m getting kind of bored with what the fashion world is putting out right now. Is Tamara Mellon, along with a few other designers, paving the way for a fashion refresh?

What do you think?

